Skip to Main Content

English Language and Literacy: Databases

all information about English Language and Literacy

UAEU Databases

Language and the Learning Crisis: Evidence of Transfer Threshold Mechanisms in Multilingual Reading in South India.

Academic Journal

By: Nakamura, Pooja Reddy; de Hoop, Thomas; Holla, Chinmaya Udayakumar. Journal of Development Studies. Nov2019, Vol. 55 Issue 11, p2287-2305. 19p. 1 Diagram, 6 Charts, 5 Graphs. DOI: 10.1080/00220388.2018.1493192.

Subjects: SCHOOL enrollment; REGRESSION analysis; SOUTH Asians; ENGLISH language; DATA analysis; INDIA

The Role of Low-level First Language Skills in Second Language Reading, Reading-While-Listening and Listening Performance: A Study of Young Dyslexic and Non-dyslexic Language Learners.

Academic Journal

By: Kormos, Judit; Babuder, Milena Košak; Pižorn, Karmen. Applied Linguistics. Oct2019, Vol. 40 Issue 5, p834-858. 25p. DOI: 10.1093/applin/amy028.

Feasibility and evaluation of Talk Boost KS2: A school-based programme for oral language skills in children with low-average communication skills in Key Stage 2.

Academic Journal

By: Reeves, Louisa; Freed, Jenny; Wright, Jonathan; Wood, Elizabeth; Black, Rachael; Hartshorne, Mary; Adams, Catherine. Child Language Teaching & Therapy. Oct2019, Vol. 35 Issue 3, p221-240. 20p. 7 Charts, 1 Graph. DOI: 10.1177/0265659019874851.

English language learners in border state experience accelerated literacy growth.

Periodical

District Administration. Oct2019, Vol. 55 Issue 9, p39-39. 1p.

Indigenous Cosmopolitics and English Literacy in the Pacific Northwest.

Academic Journal

By: Fee, Margery. Journal of Intercultural Studies. Oct2019, Vol. 40 Issue 5, p580-594. 15p. DOI: 10.1080/07256868.2019.1651702.

Databases

Decision-Making Practices of Experienced Upper Elementary Teachers during Small Group Instruction to Support English Learners.

Academic Journal

By: Ardasheva, Yuliya; Newcomer, Sarah N.; Ernst-Slavit, Gisela; Morrison, Steven J.; Morrison, Judith A.; Carbonneau, Kira J.; Lightner, Lindsay K. Elementary School Journal. Sep2019, Vol. 120 Issue 1, p88-108. 21p. 1 Chart. DOI: 10.1086/704392.

Supporting Reading Comprehension for Students Who Are Learning English and Have Learning Disabilities.

Academic Journal

By: Williams, Kelly J.; Martinez, Leticia R. Intervention in School & Clinic. Sep2019, Vol. 55 Issue 1, p23-31. 9p. DOI: 10.1177/1053451219833019.

Performing Ideologies: Fostering Raciolinguistic Literacies Through Role‐Play in a High School English Classroom.

Academic Journal

By: Seltzer, Kate. Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy. Sep2019, Vol. 63 Issue 2, p147-155. 9p. 1 Chart. DOI: 10.1002/jaal.966.

Creating Conditions for Literate Engagement: Teaching, Learning, and Acting in the World.

Academic Journal

By: Burns, Leslie David; Faris, Amber; Melino, Flor; Turner, Wendy; Wheatley, Abigail. Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy. Sep2019, Vol. 63 Issue 2, p201-208. 8p. 1 Chart. DOI: 10.1002/jaal.981.

Sarcasm as Pedagogy of Love: Exploring Ironic Speech Acts in an Urban High School English Classroom.

Academic Journal

By: Larson, Joanne; Morris, Timothy; Shaw, Kristen. Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy. Sep2019, Vol. 63 Issue 2, p169-177. 9p. 3 Charts. DOI: 10.1002/jaal.967.

...

Data

 

Databases

National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and Literacy – The National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and Literacy (NCSALL) was a federally funded research and development center focused solely on adult learning. NCSALL's efforts were dedicated to improving practice in educational programs that serve adults with limited literacy and English language skills, and those without a high school diploma.

ERIC – The Education Resources Information Center, a US-based, federally funded website, produces a database of journal and non-journal education literature. The ERIC online system provides the public with a centralized Web site for searching the bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, are now available for free.

Illiteracy Map of the World – Teachers and others may find this illiteracy map of the world dated 1999 useful in presentations, publications, and other print and interactive media and materials. For more information and to request authorization to reprint visit: http://www.mapsofworld.com/thematic-maps/world-illiteracy-map.htm. German language readers may search for maps through the Deutsch web portal: http://www.mapsofworld.com/deutsch.