Drama: Web Resources

This website was created to provide easy access to useful research sites on the history of theater, from classical to today. Also at this site are links to lighting, costume, and set design resources.

Didaskalia is an electronic journal and resource dedicated to the study of ancient Greek and Roman drama in performance.

An international scholarly project that is establishing the broad context from which the great drama of Shakespeare and his contemporaries grew.

This site is dedicated to the study of Renaissance and Baroque theatrical spectacle, and the technology that created these illusions.

Run by a professor at Brown University, this website is like an encyclopedia for Victorian culture. This is their section on entertainment.

This website is a multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville.

This web site is dedicated to the Russian theater of Stanislavsky and Meyerhold, Chekhov, Mayakovsky and Bulgakov, Malevich and Tatlin, Stravinsky and Shostakovich.

This site is an online archive of theatre ephemera and documents ranging from 1827 to the present day and has been sourced from several other collections including Royal Holloway University, the V&A Theatre Collections, the UEL archive and professional theatre collections.

This collection from the University of Illinois includes over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in Engliand and the United States. These materials include costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric.

This collection from the University of Illinois includes almost 3500 pictures of actors - studio portraits and actors posing in costume for a particular role or performing a scene from a play.