A Grammar of the Arabic Language
by
Dr Wright's translation of Caspari's Arabic Grammar first appeared in 1859. Since that time it has been thoroughly revised and enlarged, and has become the standard authority. Volume I contains sections on orthography and pronunciation, on the verb, the noun and adjective, on numerals, prepositions, adverbs and conjunctions. Volume II deals with syntax and prosody.
A New Arabic Grammar of the Written Language
by
This is a revised second edition of A New Arabic Grammar of the Written Language first published in 1962. It is based on and replaces Thatcher's Arabic Grammar and has a vocabulary of over 4,000 words, almost twice as many as in the old Thatcher, while the number of chapters has been increased from forty-nine to fifty-two.The Supplement contains a number of new features. Apart from selections from the Qur'an, fables, stories, newspaper extracts, advertisements and letters, additional material in the form of extracts from classical and modern Arabic writings and proverbs is included. Appendix A provides a useful introduction to the main colloquial Arabic dialects, Appendix B, a useful reading guide, and Appendix C, further grammatical information not supplied in the first edition.This is above all a practical grammar, not an advanced reference grammar like Wright's. It is meant for the beginner who is not familiar with the peculiarities of Semitic languages. It will meet most students' needs for the first two or three years of their study.
Key to a New Arabic Grammar
by
This book is the valuable Key to A New Arabic Grammar, the bestselling introduction to the Arabic language for over thirty years.
Arabic Grammar and Linguistics
by
This book explores aspects of the Arabic Grammatical Tradition and Arabic Linguistics from both a theoretical and descriptive perspective. It also touches on issues of relevance to other disciplines, particularly Qur'anic exegesis and jurisprudence. The links between the fields of language and religion are historically strong in the Arabic and Islamic traditions as so much time and effort was spent by grammarians in interpreting the precise meanings of two of the main sources of Islamic jurisprudence - the Quran and Hadith. Prof Suleiman has assembled an international team of experts in this area and presents a thorough review of the sources and arguments. The book will be of interest to all students, researchers and teachers of Arabic Language and Culture.
Arabic Grammar
by
Standard Arabic - the language of educated discourse throughout the Arab world - presents difficulties beyond those encountered in most foreign languages. Though today it is increasingly being popularised, it remains essentially an elitist, 'learned' language. It has been used without substantial change for over thirteen centuries, in regions as distant as Spain and China, in fields as diverse as poetry and medicine, mathematics and theology. Its morphology and syntax are largely constant, but vocabulary, sense, idiom and style often vary widely. Arabic script requires a good deal of intelligent guesswork: long vowels and diphthongs are easily confused with certain consonants or with each other; short vowels are not normally indicated at all; most consonants are distinguished only by the placing of dots, and can easily be mistaken or misprinted. This is a textbook designed to guide the first-year student through the difficult early stages of learning Arabic. It avoids the dry, 'scholarly' approach; it uses modern linguistic concepts sparingly, and takes simple short-cuts where they serve an immediate, practical purpose. Professor Wickens presents the basic facts of the language in a pragmatic order; he introduces the beginner to the recurring problems, shows various ways of recognising and tackling them, and helps accustom him from the outset to deal with the unvocalised (unvowelled) texts which he will nearly always encounter.
Mastering Arabic Grammar
by
A highly illustrated and popular reference and activity book which is divided into two parts: basic grammar and verbs. The book reinforces and expands the structures and vocabulary presented in Mastering Arabic 1 and is the ideal companion to this popular course. However the clear structural explanations and practice activities make it a perfect companion for any taught or self-teach course. There are optional extra sections with explanations and activities covering the grammatical case endings used in formal, literary and religious Arabic. Aimed at beginners or early intermediate learners of Arabic, Mastering Arabic Grammar is ideal for both self-study use and classroom courses.
Arabic Grammar in Its Formative Age
by
This volume deals with the numerous grammatical passages included in the voluminous Kit b al- Ayn, the earliest Arabic dictionary (8th century). This material is isolated and classified according to its various grammatical categories and then analyzed, taking due account of the current knowledge of the state of Arabic grammar in its early stage of development.The much disputed attribution of Kit b al- Ayn to h al l b. Ah mad is reconsidered from the vantage point of this grammatical material. This reconsideration involves a critical study of the vast medieval literature about al l's personality and the question of attribution of this early Arabic dictionary.In addition to the author's analysis, the volume includes an appendix with citations of the original grammatical passages of this dictionary with useful indices.
A Reference Grammar of Modern Standard Arabic
by
Keeping technical terminology to a minimum, this comprehensive handbook provides a detailed yet accessible overview of Arabic wherein its phonology, morphology and syntax can be readily accessed. Accompanied by extensive examples, it will prove an invaluable practical guide for supporting students' textbooks, classroom work or self-study, and a useful resource for scholars and professionals.
العربية الفصحى الحديثة ، مرجع في النحو العربي. Modern literary Arabic : a reference grammar
by