Law Collection: New Arrivals 2024: General Law Collection - English

Designed as an introduction to legal research, this text is written as a hands on guide with ample illustrations and step-by-step explanations as to the set-up and use of all major legal source materials. The focus is on the legal research process, not just components or sources of law. It is also designed for the adjunct instructor with all materials required to teach the class: teaching guidelines, homework assignments with answers, transparency masters, and test questions with answers.ALSO AVAILABLEINSTRUCTOR SUPPLEMENTS CALL CUSTOMER SUPPORT TO ORDERComputerized Test Bank, ISBN: 0-8273-7971-4 Instructors Manual, ISBN: 0-8273-7475-5

Long before the rise of Islam in the early seventh century, Arabia had come to form an integral part of the Near East. This book, covering more than three centuries of legal history, presents an important account of how Islam developed its own law while drawing on ancient Near Eastern legal cultures, Arabian customary law and Quranic reforms. The development of the judiciary, legal reasoning and legal authority during the first century is discussed in detail as is the dramatic rise of prophetic authority, the crystallization of legal theory and the formation of the all-important legal schools. Finally the book explores the interplay between law and politics, explaining how the jurists and the ruling elite led a symbiotic existence that - seemingly paradoxically - allowed Islamic law and its application to be uniquely independent of the 'state'.

The book covers objective writing, legal research, and adversarial writing in a process method, and provides multiple annotated samples of good and bad writing throughout the text many of which use a common hypothetical, and teaches the TREAT method and explanatory synthesis that produce powerful and effective objective and adversarial writing.

With a proven-effective process approach that has made this book a continual best seller, The Process of Legal Research, Sixth Edition, leads students to a deep and meaningful understanding of the "what," "why," "and "how" of conducting legal research. the text is skillfully structured to engage student interest: a thorough introduction To The process of Legal Research extensive illustrations and examples of research problems the authors emphasize best research practice coverage of electronic research is integrated into the text extensive, well-researched problem sets appear on perforated pages for easy use Changes For The Sixth Edition facilitate teaching and learning: text streamlined to offer enhanced graphics and less dense text a list of "not-to-do's" is based on a survey of writing professors and librarians, As well as practicing lawyers coverage of ALWD Citation Manual as well as the Bluebook more emphasis on the Internet An author website to support classroom instruction using this title is available at http://www.aspenlawschool.com/kunz6

This important collection of essays includes Professor Hart's first defense of legal positivism; his discussion of the distinctive teaching of American and Scandinavian jurisprudence; an examination of theories of basic human rights and the notion of "social solidarity," and essays on Jhering, Kelsen, Holmes, and Lon Fuller.

This new edition has been fully revised to include up-to-date coverage of essential issues of the international law of the sea. Covering a number of new and important issues, such as the headline debate of migrant movement across the seas, and the definition of islands in light of the South China Sea Arbitration, it also includes chapters on conservation of marine living resources and biological diversity, protection of the marine environment, and international peace and security at sea, as well as building further on such topics as the impact of climate change on the oceans. A precise and readable book, with many figures and tables, The International Law of the Sea continues to be the best choice for students wanting to understand the law of the sea.

The book identifies and explains the critical employment laws or labor laws in the United States. The labor laws are essential in identifying and improving the terms and conditions of employment in the American labor market. The aim of labor laws is to achieve industrial harmony by enabling employers and employees, via trade unions, to agree on appropriate work practices that uphold the rights of workers and enhance the performance of the organization. Employment laws facilitate the realization of equality in the workplace for the diverse categories of employees through the concept of equal pay for work of equal value and equal employment and career development opportunities. The labor Acts establish government agencies responsible for overseeing the implementation of the desired standards of employment across the public, private, and not-for-profit sectors of American society.