Health in Credo: Books

Covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010 - 2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness.

Information about conventional and alternative therapies, and how they can work together to help you reap maximum benefits. This approach is called Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM), and it lets you combine the best of both worlds: mainstream medical therapies and alternative solutions that have high-quality scientific evidence for safety and effectiveness.

Created with a nationally recognized advisory board of medical professionals and leading figures in natural healing fields, this text covers topics ranging from the familiar to the new and promising: from mint tea for a stomachache to onion juice for a bee sting, from using baking soda as a kitchen cleanser to finding quiet in a crowded world, from adding turmeric to fight arthritis to practicing aromatherapy at home.

Draws on historical and international comparative research to provide a rigorous and thematic examination of the field.

Explores wellbeing from multiple perspectives, including children and families; the workplace; the environment; aging and later life; economics; and policies of wellbeing. Each volume brings together leaders of their respective fields in an edited volume of original articles.

For a woman faced with a diagnosis of breast cancer, the information available today is vast, uneven, and confusing. For more than two decades, readers have relied on Dr. Susan Love's Breast Book to guide them through this frightening thicket of research and opinion to find the best possible options for their particular situations. This sixth edition explains exciting advances in targeted treatments, hormonal therapies, safer chemotherapy, and immunologic approaches as well as new forms of surgery and radiation. There is extensive guidance for the increasing number of women living for years with metastatic breast cancer. With Dr. Love's warm support, readers can sort the facts from the fads, ask the right questions, and recognize when a second opinion might be wise.

Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.

This A to Z reference is a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health.

Captures (in one alphabetical sequence) the histories of major regional events such as the African, Asian, Arab, South Pacific, and Pan American Games; competitions such as the Indian Ocean Island Games, Arctic Winter Games, Island Games, and Games of the Small Countries of Europe; specific populations or professions such as the North American Indigenous Games, Maccabiah Games, World Military Games, World Police and Fire Games, and World Medical and Health Games; and Special Olympics, the Paralympics, games for the blind, and other regional games.

Provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport and Exercise Science.

The concise and authoritative entries have been selected by experienced teachers and researchers; each one defines, explains and develops a key topic in sport psychology acting as a springboard for further reading and debate.

Written by experienced academics who teach the subject, this book will help students and researchers find their way within the diverse field of sport studies.

Traces the emergence of sport in its modern forms, and features all established Olympic sports and sports recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) but not included in the Olympic programme, as well as sports with their own cultural and organizational base and commercial momentum.

Provides an effective way to quickly learn about any aspect of genetics, from Abortive Transduction to Zygotes.

Most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting.

Comprehensive coverage of many common addictions, including alcoholism, gambling, and OxyContin, as well as their relating behaviors.

The definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics. Contains concise, readable explorations of hundreds of terms, concepts, and issues related to the lives of older adults, as well as timely coverage of the many new programs and services for the elderly.

For the first time, the world's experts in HIV-AIDS have come together to publish the Encyclopedia of AIDS. The work features thousands of entries, including medical, cultural, social, and pharmacological essays.

Captures current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s.

Provides coverage on topics critical to understanding depression, such as the history of the disease, research, treatment options, and the role of various mental health professionals in addressing the condition.

Responding to the needs of providers, directcare workers, family, and other caregivers, the diverse array of entries included in this encyclopedia recognize and address the complex medical, social, and psychological problems associated with geriatric care.

Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.

An A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders. Written for clinical professionals and students in training to aid in clinical awareness, diagnostic accuracy, and intervention successfulness.

Presents hundreds of articles on eating disorders and obesity, including causes, symptoms, and treatment options.

Entries offer information on the causes, history, and psychology of suicide and includes coverage of current research and listings of associations and crisis centers.

Unique compendium that provides a "bullet" of epilepsy-related information that is ideal for quick and easy reference. Physicians can quickly find answers to clinical questions, access important drug information, or understand the newest treatments and innovations for managing the most complex epilepsy patients

Provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, along with issues related to physical and cognitive/behavioral development. It is an appropriate resource for parents, teachers, and allied health students.

Authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic (local) and pandemic (widespread) diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more.

Presents authoritative, comprehensive information on all aspects of senior health, for seniors and their caregivers.

Distills an amazing amount of information into a book that is easy to read and navigate. Coverage of all the essential issues related to depression, including use of medication, treatment therapies and models, symptoms of Depression, related disorders, and more.

Updated and expanded to provide up-to-date information about the causes, symptoms, treatments of autoimmune diseases, and the medical and social issues related to them.

An important book for people of all ages, this 2nd edition offers a complete overview of the medical, scientific, social, and lifestyle issues that impact men's health.

Provides clear, concise nutritional guidance about smart eating and lifestyle choices. Updated with the latest data and statistics, this A-to-Z resource is essential for learning the basics about how food choices can help maintain optimum health and beat diseases.

Ask the Doctor questions answered by Harvard Medical School faculty members.

Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

Commentaries written by Harvard physicians on the questions that people face every day related to fitness, nutrition, parenting, heart health, mental health, men's and women's health.

Single-topic, in-depth reports from Harvard Medical School.

In-depth descriptions of the most common diseases, symptoms, procedures, and tests written by Harvard Medical School faculty members.

Provides thorough insight into common conditions, diseases, and wellness issues. Each report focuses on a specific health concern and provides helpful tips for readers to further understand how to address and improve their health.

Offering in-depth coverage of all areas of health and disease, this 3rd edition offers current and accurate information on approximately 450 diseases and conditions.

Psychological first aid, or PFA, is designed to mitigate the effects of acute stress and trauma and assist those in crisis to cope effectively with adversity. The Johns Hopkins Guide to Psychological First Aid is the first book to thoroughly explain RAPID PFA. RAPID, a unique theoretically grounded and evidence-based PFA method, follows a set of easily understood principles.

Provides a much needed guide to the central concepts used across the subject, and offers the reader a comprehensive overview of the core topics, theories and debates. Drawing together the fundamentals within the disciplines of health, nursing, and social policy this book is an ideal text both for students studying health in a range of academic fields, and for health and social care practitioners.

Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.

Explores the origins and impacts of what many experts now call a pandemic of opioid abuse in America. With commentary from public heath experts and the inclusion of more than 30 primary sources, this text also explores the origins, costs, and sharply polarized opinions regarding the decades old war on drugs, including discussion of opinions related to disparities in drug law convictions and punishments, and the effects of mass criminalization.

A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.

A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.

A concise, up-to-date guide to the essential language of medicine. Contains More than 38,000 entries and covers the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs.

A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.

Packed with descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, covers a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology, and zoology.

A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.

Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.

Answers the most important questions on the human body through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. Includes updates and new references, plus information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment. An invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.

This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today.

This fully updated third edition of this award-winning title covers topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment

Provides a much needed guide to the central topics and debates which shape nursing theory, policy and contemporary practice.

Comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, this is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership.