LibGuides: Arabic Language and Literature: Databases

UAEU Databases

Arabic Collections Online (ACO) This link opens in a new window
Is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. Funded by New York University Abu Dhabi, this mass digitization project aims to expose up to 15,000 volumes from NYU and partner institutions over a period of five years. NYU and the partner institutions are contributing all types of material—literature, business, science, and more—from their Arabic language collections. ACO will provide digital access to printed books drawn from rich Arabic collections of prominent libraries.
Free
MagillOnLiterature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides critical analyses and brief plot summaries of the most studied works in the history of literature. Includes information from 31 reference sets including 5 Masterplots titles, 14 Masterplots II titles, the 5-volume Cyclopedia of World Authors [rev. 3rd ed.], the 5-volume Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [rev 3rd ed], 10 years of Magill's Literary Annual, and Magill Book Reviews.
UAEU

Databases

A-Z Databases: Arabic Language Database
Arabic Language and Literature
There is a general tendency to confuse Arab and Muslim identities. While the majority of Arabs are Muslim, most Muslims are not Arabs. There are also non-Muslim Arabs. The first Arab conquests aimed at spreading Islam caused the Arabs to settle outside the Arabian Peninsula, extending their control over the Levant, North Africa, Mesopotamia, and the southern part of the Iberian Peninsula. The military conquests contributed to a gradual process of Arabization, even among non-Muslims. While all Muslims are required to pray in Arabic, they use their native languages to communicate among themselves, and to read and write. Some of those languages, Farsi, Urdu, and Pashtun, to cite only a few, are written in the Arabic script to this day

....

Arabic in the Fray: Language Ideology and Cultural Politics

Taking as its point of departure the symbolic role of language and its use as proxy in the social world, this book investigates how Arabic is involved in ideological and cultural debates in which conflict is a defining feature. The author shows how discussions about the inimitability of the Qur'an in the pre-modern world were, at some deep level, concerned with issues of ethnic election against the background of inter-ethnic strife among Arabs and non-Arabs, mainly Persians.

Database of Arabic Literature

Searching Databases@UAEU

UAEU Databsess Searching