Aerospace Engineering: Books

The study of flight dynamics requires a thorough understanding of the theory of the stability and control of aircraft, an appreciation of flight control systems and a comprehensive grounding in the theory of automatic control. Flight Dynamics Principles provides all three in an accessible and student focussed text. Written for those coming to the subject for the first time the book is suitable as a complete first course text. It provides a secure foundation from which to move on to more advanced topics such a non-linear flight dynamics, simulation and advanced flight control, and is ideal for those on course including flight mechanics, aircraft handling qualities, aircraft stability and control. Enhances by detailed worked examples, case studies and aircraft operating condition software, this complete course text, by a renowned flight dynamicist, is widely used on aircraft engineering courses

Comprehensive textbook which introduces the fundamentals of aerospace engineering with a flight test perspective Introduction to Aerospace Engineering with a Flight Test Perspective is an introductory level text in aerospace engineering with a unique flight test perspective. Flight test, where dreams of aircraft and space vehicles actually take to the sky, is the bottom line in the application of aerospace engineering theories and principles. Designing and flying the real machines are often the reasons that these theories and principles were developed. This book provides a solid foundation in many of the fundamentals of aerospace engineering, while illuminating many aspects of real-world flight. Fundamental aerospace engineering subjects that are covered include aerodynamics, propulsion, performance, and stability and control. Key features: Covers aerodynamics, propulsion, performance, and stability and control. Includes self-contained sections on ground and flight test techniques. Includes worked example problems and homework problems. Suitable for introductory courses on Aerospace Engineering. Excellent resource for courses on flight testing. Introduction to Aerospace Engineering with a Flight Test Perspective is essential reading for undergraduate and graduate students in aerospace engineering, as well as practitioners in industry. It is an exciting and illuminating read for the aviation enthusiast seeking deeper understanding of flying machines and flight test.

This book is a concise practical treatise for the student or experienced professional aircraft designer. This volume comprises key fundamental subjects for aerodynamic performance analysis: the basics of flight mechanics bridging both engineering and piloting perspectives, propulsion system performance attributes, practical drag prediction methods, aircraft "up and away" flight performance and aircraft mission performance. This book may serve as a textbook for an undergraduate aircraft performance course or as a reference for the classically trained practicing engineer.

Rare event probability (10-4 and less) estimation has become a large area of research in the reliability engineering and system safety domains. A significant number of methods have been proposed to reduce the computation burden for the estimation of rare events from advanced sampling approaches to extreme value theory. However, it is often difficult in practice to determine which algorithm is the most adapted to a given problem. Estimation of Rare Event Probabilities in Complex Aerospace and Other Systems: A Practical Approach provides a broad up-to-date view of the current available techniques to estimate rare event probabilities described with a unified notation, a mathematical pseudocode to ease their potential implementation and finally a large spectrum of simulation results on academic and realistic use cases. Provides a broad overview of the practical approach of rare event methods. Includes algorithms that are applied to aerospace benchmark test cases Offers insight into practical tuning issues